Invitation to writers:
Press release:
Seminar on Publishing Your Work


The 2016 literature awards are now finished.

PRESS RELEASE: 2016 winner
PRESS RELEASE: Bessie Head Heritage Trust Has Exciting Plans for Writers This Year! Applying for the Bessie Head Heritage Trust One-Day Writing Workshop Requirements for Submission Bessie Head Short Story Awards 2016

The first competition was held in 2007. A devoted Committee undertook the work of organising the inaugural contest and judging the entries even before we became a Trust. The first awards were presented at the BessieFest 2007 in Serowe, and a number of the winning entries have since been published by Pentagon Publishers.

History of the Bessie Head Awards
Year    Winners PDF Entry Rules
2011 winners-2011 2011 entry-rules-2011
2010 winners-2010 2010 entry-rules-2010
2009 winners-2009 2009 entry-rules-2009
2008 winners-2008 2008 entry-rules-2008
2007 winners-2007 2007 entry-rules-2007
 ALL winners-all-years  ALL  

Why do we honour Bessie Head?
The Bessie Head Literature Awards have been sponsored by Pentagon Publishers and administered by the Bessie Head Heritage Trust. The Trust was established in June 2007 to promote the life and work of Bessie Head both here and abroad. We believe this competition is important for two reasons: (a) to help preserve Bessie Head's legacy in Botswana, since she is our country’s most famous writer who has gained broad recognition overseas; and (b) to encourage the development of local literature in various genres in English.

Bessie Head herself was generous with her time when students asked her for assistance and advice, and we believe that this generosity is best reflected in a vigorous effort to promote literature and reading in Botswana.

Literature Awards
Bessie's Writings
Bessie Head Papers
News & Calendar
BessieFest 2007
Invited Editorials
For You, Readers
BH Heritage Trust
Related Web Links
Site Map/Archives

Back to top of page
2013 BHead Heritage Trust